A Birthday Chair

When we were ordering a garden seat at the workshops of Simon Thomas Pirie in Bryantspuddle, my gaze fell upon a rather beautiful chair.  The particular feature which caught my eye was the parrot green leather seat.  The main frame of the chair is sycamore and the curved struts which form the back are burr walnut.OryxChairAlthough I understand that the chair monicker has nothing to do with the large antelope species of the same name, when I happen to see part of a TV programme about South African wildlife over Christmas, I am struck by the dark banded markings on the light-coloured animal, and how they reflect the striking contrast of the two woods in the chair. oryx oryx-dunes-namibia_61075_990x742As for the genesis of the Oryx Chair let Simon tell you in his own words in a blog post of March 23 2013:

“So after 20 years of designing and making furniture, 15 years of running my own business what’s my favourite piece? Well this was designed exactly 20 years ago, while I was at Hooke Park College and was the first chair I ever designed – the ‘Oryx’:SimonOriginalOryx

Perhaps I’ve never bettered it, there is a kind of naivety in doing something for the first time where you are not held back by the most efficient way of machining something or using timber most cost-effectively. As a result it’s a pig to make, taking twice as long as an ‘Impala’ chair, nevertheless we do still make slightly revised version, ‘Oryx2′ today. I’m still very found of it, it is beautifully, almost classically proportioned and supremely comfortable. When I sit in the armchair it’s like therapy, the arm detail lets my hands wrap around it, the curved slats support the back and that lovely top rail rail does the same with the shoulders. I’m not alone in thinking this, I have friends who make a bee-line for it as soon as they are through the door. I do have a really early version here at home and it’s still looking great. So while some of my other choices in the top 5 may be fluid, this chair would always be at no.1.

That first set in 1993 was designed for Bournemouth University, for their main lecture theatre furniture. It’s been used as the platform table for many debates over many years. These where all in sycamore, the idea being that they stood out and had a real presence in such a large auditorium. I took this shot soon after it was commissioned, it’s a rather poor shot taken before the room was renovated and the colour scheme matched the furniture, hence the black and white image. It’s in sharp contrast to the image above, which again is the first and still the best!

They have been made in many materials over the years, but I think they still look best in oak. The classic combination is oak and walnut, best seen in this fantastic 14 seat dining set for the Lulworth Estate completed in 2009. There are 2 armchairs, with the rest being the ‘Grand’ 8 slat version of the dining chair. We also do a smaller 6 slat version of the dining chair just in case you don’t have a castle! You can see one in the background of the main image above.”

So there you have it, a beautiful chair to sit and work from:   Happy Birthday, Nick x

 

Leave a Reply

