My F Words

F is for France, Friends, Food and Fun because that is Filling these early August days.    On Friday evening Fefe and Francois invite us to a light supper of Lobster salad.  The following day finds us enjoying a lunch with the Daniells and their friends on a very small boat moored in the marina.  Then on Sunday I meet up with Claire and Emma at 05.45 hr to walk the sand flats in St Vaast on a grande maree.  We find no stray Pecten maximus on this little foray but do pick up some interesting holed shells which can go towards the stash we are accumulating for stringing tree decorations.  On Monday evening Ty and Claire come across to eat a Squid curry with us and play a hand of Spite and Malice.

As weather permits I have been busying myself in the garden and Nick has been replacing the gravels in the potager area with a consignment of nice white chips.  He has raked over and laid some black plastic fabric down to suppress the weeds and we must try and stay on top of keeping it clear.

On Thursday we are invited to a soiree at Le Vast.  Alain and Martine’s house is, to intents and purposes, finished and after they have endured a long building slog I can well imagine how relieved they must feel and pleased with the result too.  Earlier in the day I spent some time at Le Dranguet with Anne and Tatane.  During this afternoon interval I volunteered to join Tatane on a coastal walk that she would be doing on Friday.  We worked out that I could fit this in before the Cholseys were due to arrive in St Vaast.  Little did I know what feat of endurance I was laying myself open to……

Leave a Reply

